Charlotte Mcconaghy

  • Depuis son plus jeune âge, Franny Stone est incapable de se fixer.
    En suivant les marées et les oiseaux qui planent au-dessus d'elle, elle tente de surmonter les pertes qui ont hanté sa vie.
    Mais lorsque la nature sauvage qu'elle aime tant menace de disparaître, Franny ne peut plus errer sans destination. Elle arrive au Groenland avec un objectif : trouver la dernière volée de Sternes arctiques et la suivre dans sa migration.
    Elle convainc le capitaine Ennis Malone de la prendre à bord du Saghani, gagnant la confiance de son équipage excentrique en lui promettant que les oiseaux qu'elle suit les mèneront à des poissons, devenus trop rares.
    Mais cette femme au bord de l'effondrement, consumée par un monde aussi brisé qu'elle, n'est pas celle qu'elle prétend être.
    Propulsé par une narratrice aussi féroce et fragile que les Sternes qu'elle suit, Migrations est à la fois une ode à notre monde menacé et un page-turner à couper le souffle qui raconte les chagrins et la culpabilité des hommes.

  • " Migrations is as beautiful and as wrenching as anything I've ever read. This is an extraordinary novel by a wildly talented writer." -Emily St. John Mandel, author of Station Eleven For readers of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven , a novel set on the brink of catastrophe, as a young woman chases the world's last birds-and her own final chance for redemption. A will is a powerful thing, and mine has been called terrible. Franny Stone has always been a wanderer. By following the ocean's tides and the birds that soar above, she can forget the losses that have haunted her life. But when the wild she so loves begins to disappear, Franny can no longer wander without a destination. She arrives in remote Greenland with one purpose: to find the world's last flock of Arctic terns and follow them on their final migration. She convinces Ennis Malone, captain of the Saghani , to take her onboard, winning over his salty, eccentric crew with promises that the birds she is tracking will lead them to fish. As the Saghani fights its way south, Franny's new shipmates begin to realize that the beguiling scientist in their midst is not who she seems. Battered by night terrors, accumulating a pile of letters to her husband, and dead set on following the terns at any cost, Franny is full of dark secrets. When the story of her past begins to unspool, Ennis and his crew must ask themselves what Franny is really running toward-and running from. Propelled by a narrator as fierce and fragile as the terns she is following, Migrations is a shatteringly beautiful ode to the wild places and creatures now threatened. But at its heart, it is about the lengths we will go, to the very edges of the world, for the people we love.

empty